What I’ve Been Reading in Quarantine

If you’re anything like me, you’ve been using quarantine to catch up on reading. There’s plenty of time now to curl up with a good book for a while. I thought it might be interesting to share what I’ve been reading while social distancing – and maybe give some recommendations too. Be warned, I tend to read multiple books at once, so there’s quite a few on this list. 

“Milk and Honey” and “The Sun and Her Flowers” by Rupi Kaur

These books are both poetry collections by Rupi Kaur. They contain hundreds of heartfelt poems on topics such as heartbreak, feminism, and being a woman of color. The poems also contain doodles done by the author herself. The poems themselves are beautifully written and reflect moments from Kaur’s life. I recommend these because they are quick reads, but the poems can leave lasting imprints on the reader. 

“The Last Olympian” by Rick Riordan

With news of a Percy Jackson adaptation coming to Disney+, I decided to reread the last book in the series. This book, in particular, is my favorite out of the series. I really enjoy the way Rick Riordan writes fight scenes and makes his characters feel real. There is also a nostalgia factor with these books, which I know that fellow fans of the series can relate to. Obviously, if you want to read “The Last Olympian,” you need to start at the beginning of the series. However, you’ll know that this amazing book is waiting for you at the end. 

“Six of Crows” by Leigh Bardugo

I’ve heard lots of great things about Leigh Bardugo’s books, so I decided to give them a try. “Six of Crows” and its sequel “Crooked Kingdom” are spinoffs of Bardugo’s “Shadow and Bone” series. You do not need to read those books to understand “Six of Crows,” but you can definitely give them a read. “Six of Crows” follows a group of outcasts who are tasked with completing a nearly impossible heist. There’s an intricate magic system and Bardugo’s writing style is beautiful. The characters are complex and interesting. This book is good for fans of adventure stories with complex characters.

“Illuminae” by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman

“Illuminae” is a futuristic science-fiction novel told through diagrams, emails, and other documents. It follows the lives of two teenagers after their planet is attacked and they are forced to evacuate onto a fleet of ships. The multimedia aspect is what I think makes this book interesting. I would recommend this for fans of Star Wars or Star Trek because it does take place primarily in space. 

“The King of Crows” by Libba Bray

“The King of Crows” is the final book in the Diviners series, so I would recommend reading those first. This series takes place in 1920s New York and is filled with paranormal elements. The characters are incredibly diverse and likable. Libba Bray is an incredible storyteller who also manages to touch on topics that were relevant then and are even more important now. The series as a whole is beautifully well-written and I highly recommend it.

“Romeo and/or Juliet” by Ryan North

If you wish Romeo and Juliet ended differently, then look no further. “Romeo and/or Juliet” is a choose-your-own-adventure version of the Shakespeare classic. There are hundreds of different endings, and while you can choose to follow the story accurately, it is much more fun to stray away and make outlandish decisions. This book is humor-filled and manages to poke fun at the original story. If you are finding yourself bored in quarantine, then I suggest picking this up.

While quarantine is not very enjoyable, doing things you love can make it more bearable. For some, reading is one of these things. I hope you were able to find some new book recommendations on this list.

Advisor’s Note: We would also like to encourage you all to watch this video by our librarian, Mrs. Smith, with book recommendations about fighting racism. In the description of that video, you will also find the link to the video on using Sora to download books from the LHS library, including some of the titles recommended above! 

Olivia Post, Co-Editor of The Colonel

Sophomore Olivia Post is Co-Editor of The Colonel for the 2019-2020 Colonel. She is a member of Concert Choir and the track team.  When she isn’t watching the Yankees or The Great British Bake-Off, she enjoys reading.

Posted in A&E

Tell us how you feel

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.